Must males and females be kept separate?

Irrlich

Reaction score
Country
Belgium
Hello

I'm new to keeping axolotls and amphibians in general.
I got my two axolotls as eggs and they hatched in march. For the first few months I raised them together on a diet of daphnia, bloodworms, chopped earthworms, chopped mussels and pellets.

Around the time they were large enough to handle chopped earthworms the one that has always been slightly larger (Axel) started nipping the smaller one (Lotte). At that time they were sharing a 60 liter tank. When Axel bit off a part of Lotte's foot and tail in I separated them and they have been apart since.

They were 3 months old then and are now 8 months old and sexually mature. Axel has been living in a 120 liter tank and Lotte in a 60 liter tank. I always wanted to keep them in the same tank in the long run, so I was waiting for them to become sexually mature since sources online say that the aggression and cannibalism passes once they become older.

They are now 25 and 23 centimeters long and sexually mature. I had placed them both in the same bucket a while ago so that I could rearrange their tanks a bit and Axel started trying to mate with Lotte, which is how I confirmed my suspicions that I have a male and a female.

For me this raises various questions:
- Can a male and a female be safely housed together or do they need a divider?
- Would I need to add a second female so that Lotte does not become exhausted by Axel's attention? If so, does the tank need to be even bigger than 120 liters?
- Is 8 months still too early to keep them together even though they are now sexually mature?

Attachments

• PB211240.jpg
    PB211240.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 811
  • PB211269.jpg
    PB211269.jpg
    87.1 KB · Views: 735
  • PB211245.jpg
    PB211245.jpg
    75.5 KB · Views: 938