Growing sphagnum moss

Zac

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hi there,

I recently bought sphagnum moss, and most of it seems to be a extremely light brown with light green patches. It was packaged with a plastic bag. This is the same bag that I bought:

http://www.thegardensuperstore.co.uk/acatalog/Fresh_Sphagnum_Moss_Large.gif

Now, I'm keeping it in 4 plastic containers with lids, spraying the moss with water. I'm wondering, will it need soil for it to grow? Like peat moss? Also, can it still grow when it's very light brown?

Cheers
Zac

I have some experience with growing Sphagnum moss, although it's mostly been in a plain terrarium with no animals. One thing to note is that there are many species. As I enter a one of my favorite small sphagnum bogs I see a light green form mingled with the sedges bordering the bog in and area that has some shade. Further in, under less shade, I see brown, red, and green forms. There are also forms that I see in deep shade in cedar or black spruce swamps.

In the terrarium I find these mosses in general like abundant moisture, cool temperatures, bright light, and little or no soil. They are quite vulnerable to fungi, especially if they are exposed to heat or excess nutrients. They both like and create acidic conditions. I usually water with distilled water. I am guessing that their environment may be too acidic for some amphibians, and also that animal waste might create an environment that was too nutrient rich for the moss unless it was a large lightly populated terrarium. I did keep a tiger salamander for years in a terrarium with a dead Sphagnum moss substrate that I changed periodically, so I think it's probably OK for some salamanders.