Bufo boreas halophilus

P

pin-pin

Update: My toad say 'hi.'
DSCN2158.jpg

Here is its new home.
DSCN2145.jpg

This is my first time caring for a toad, so please give some serious suggestions. There might be more additions that could increase the toad's comfort.

Hi Toad!

The set up looks good Pin Pin. I would just make sure the water isnt too deep, toads have been known to drown themselves when they arnt too busy drying themselves out! :D

Hi Pin Pin, just a couple of suggestions, If using gravel with Toads I always like to cover as much of the surface with moss, just to avoid the intake of gravel with food items. Also Bufo like to burrow so maybe add a pot filled with soil or coco humus for him to dig into if he wants to.

Yes, ditch the gravel and go with a softer substrate. In general, toads like drier conditions than frogs, so try to create a warm, dry end and a cool wet end in the tank, both with hiding places and let them choose.
Nice (I like toads!).

I am in agreement with Alan about providing a dry end to the tank.
All of my Bufo toads are in set ups going from damp with plants etc at one end, to completely dry at the other.
Although there are places to hide at both ends,all the toads without exception use the hides at the dry ends of the set ups.

In my Bufo tanks I use the same substrate mix as with my Ambystoma, comprising of equal parts coco humus and sterilised top soil, with a handful of orchid bark. I too provide an atmospheric change in the tank, it tends to be leaning more towards the dry side as I often find that the over-splash area around the water dish provides enough of a damp area. I also provide a number of hides dotted around the tank but they tend to burrow and make their own hides. I find this to be the same with the majority of Bufo species.

Hi All,
At the moment given the size of the toads, I wouldn't be too concerned with the toads eating the gravel.