Bare bottom tank.??

jockey

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi guys,
i've been researching for some hours, and people from other websites say that although bare bottom is good, it can greatly stress axolotls. i've bought a 5 foot tank and im thinking of bare bottoming it (saves time filling it with sand or river stones) should i go for bare bottom?

Re: Bare bottom tank.????????????

What about slate tile bottom? Mel

I use tile in my tank...but you are right, bare bottom would save a lot of time not only setting it up initially, but with maintenance and cleaning

im no expert so i have also gone around to other sites. and alot of sites tell me that bare bottom stresses the axie since it can not got a foot hold.

I could see bare bottom being particularly stressful if the current were strong enough to move the axolotl (in which case it might be too strong, anyway).

I've got a bare bottom, but they don't seem terribly bothered. I've also got a sizable monapi log covering much of the bottom, and I'd think that if they really didn't feel comfortable on the glass, they'd spend more time on the textured log, but they don't often. If you're really concerned, though, you could try something similar: a few easily removed fixtures like rocks or logs.

I use tile in my tank...but you are right, bare bottom would save a lot of time not only setting it up initially, but with maintenance and cleaning

But a slate tile bottom would be the same as bare bottom in the maintainence and cleaning and more attractive and with a little bit of grip.

@jockey
Do a search of slate tile on here and see other peoples pic of it.

Mel

I completely agree Mel, I prefer slate all the way...but luckily I got mine for free from my father, and I have a feeling purchasing and having tile custom cut for a 5 ft tank might cost a pretty penny.

I figured I would see what came up here before I put in my two cents worth...;)