Axolotl with fish?

TheLearner

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am thinking about getting a axolotl and was wondering if you could keep any fish or shrimp with them (I know the axolotl will probably eat them but you could always get more or breed them) I was thinking fancy goldfish, zebra danios, cloud minnows, ghost shrimp, cherry shrimp, dwarf shrimp, shiners, bantam sunfish, koi, dojo loaches or guppies might work (not all of them together of course then it would be very overcrowded), but I am no expert by all means. Have any of you kept fish with axolotls? If I were to get axolotls I would most likely get a tank in the 20-40 gallon range and would probably get a big filter.

Last edited:
Dont think to many freshwater fish can take 64f water temp. Try to think of all situations. I have seen a pic with a newt that had a little catfish stuck in its mouth. The sail fin was poking through his bottom jaw if i remember correctly:eek:.

I'm a fairly new owner myself but I've often heard that keeping fish with Axolotl isn't always ideal.. Fish from pet stores can carry diseases and parasites, the only way you can be sure they're safe is if you breed them yourself as feeders.
Also lots of fish might try to make a snack out of your axolotls fluffy gills, and there isn't much the Lotl can do about that unfortunately.
I would personally advise against it and just stick to keeping Axolotl in their own tank! :)
Not to mention that some of the kinds of fish you mentioned are super messy, such as fancy goldfish. They need a 30+ gallon tank on their own, and Axolotl need 20 gallons for the first one plus 10 for each additional one. Both goldfish and Axolotl produce lots of waste and keeping them together would be really hard to keep clean!
Just some things to think about at least! :)