Question: Axolotl Eggs, Feeding, and Blackworms

LakeJeffler

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, all!

Last weekend my axies decided to surprise me with a clutch of eggs. Needless to say I was surprised ... and unprepared.

I currently have them separated out in a shallow container, anxiously trying to figure out what to do when they hatch. Right now I'm guesstimating that I have about 6 days before they hatch. Which brings me to my questions:

Firstly, I've never cultured brine shrimp. As a college student, I'm really not sure that I'm going to have the time needed to devote to hatching bring shrimp. Will new hatchlings eat very finely chopped blackworms? I got my axies when they were about 2 inches long, so I know how to handle blackworms.

Secondly, where on earth do I get my hands on some blackworms? I've scoured the internet, but found nothing promising. Suggestions?

Hey there! I had the same problem 2 weeks ago :)
I have gone with brine shrimp; once you set up your hatchery they're easy to culture. Just set up the bubbler and lamp, then leave it!

They'll hatch in a day or two. I used an eye dropper to suck some up and put them in with my larvae. You can order brine shrimp eggs online easy-peazy. Then you just need a bubbler, airline tubing, and two 2 litre pop bottles. Plug it in, put a bright light (lamp) on it, and away it goes!

Oh - and larvae only respond to live (moving) food! So chopping black worms won't work!

Hey there! I had the same problem 2 weeks ago :)
I have gone with brine shrimp; once you set up your hatchery they're easy to culture. Just set up the bubbler and lamp, then leave it!

They'll hatch in a day or two. I used an eye dropper to suck some up and put them in with my larvae. You can order brine shrimp eggs online easy-peazy. Then you just need a bubbler, airline tubing, and two 2 litre pop bottles. Plug it in, put a bright light (lamp) on it, and away it goes!