Alpine Newt breeding and juvenile care?

NKmememachine

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone, I have a couple of pairs of alpine newts that I've been keeping together (in an indoor tank) for a few months. I had wanted to breed them eventually but wasn't planning on hibernating them yet as most of the care sheets recommend doing. Their temperature has been pretty consistent (~67°F/20°C). Nevertheless, I noticed that they've started up the mating behaviors and the females started getting big. Now, I'm starting to see eggs pop up! I was wondering if any of you more experienced keepers know if they tend to breed and lay eggs frequently without drastic temperature changes. Or could it just be that putting them together was enough after they had been separated from the opposite sex for too long?
I was also wondering what tips and recommendations you all have for caring for the larvae in the event that some of the eggs I've gathered hatch.
One last question I have regards the eft stage of this newt. Do they need to be kept terrestrial or can they go quickly back to the water after they've finished metamorphosis?

I should mention that these are the Italian (Apuana) subspecies.

Last edited:
I have bred Italian alpine newts (just a couple of juveniles left if someone is interested! -see my ad here) but I don't have any "experimental" data to provide anything about whether that is cold enough to trigger successful breeding. Over the last few days, I already have hatched crested newts but the alpines have not started laying eggs yet and I have only seen a little courtship behavior.