Illness/Sickness: URGENT Paddletail n

Druzzi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new to keeping newts, but I have a paddletail who is spending all his time out of water. I have tried water temperatures from 17 - 25 degrees C, but still he refuses to go in the water. When I first bought him, he didn't eat for 11 days, but eventually I got him to eat a waxworm (that was 4 days ago)
He doesn't move much, and is wayyy too thin for my liking..

Can anyone offer any help?

Hello, well first of all, paddle-tail newts don't come out of the water. I think you may have a diffrent species. Secondly whatever species it is, you'll need to adjust the water to, find what food it eats, and other information about it. So, find out what species it is as soon as possible.

Re: URGENT Paddletail newt

That's a shock..
I'll see if I can get a pic or two up soon.

Just a few seconds ago, I managed to get him to eat another waxworm - that's 2 in 15 days - but still he's staying in the same place..
I've got some pictures here:

153.jpg

152.jpg

He also has orange spots on his belly, just reaching the tail.
Is it a firebelly?

Last edited:
That looks like some kind of warty newt. Maybe Paramesotriton hongkongensis or Paramesotriton chinensis? Twenty-seven degrees is too high. Once it reaches 22 or 23 degrees, you should probably start trying to cool it down. Here's an article on that http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cooling.shtml. It also sounds like your aquarium isn't cycled. If it isn't then you should be doing water changes daily. What are your water parameters? Here is an article on cycling http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cyclingEDK.shtml.